C. K. Prahalad Awards and Honors


  • Valedictorian, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, India, 1966; Received Gold Medal
  • Best Thesis Prize, Harvard, 1975
  • Best Teacher Award, University of Michigan 1983, 1989
  • McKinsey Award, 1989, 1990, 1998
  • Chaired Professor granted at University of Michigan Business School, 1992
  • Received the Lal Bahadur Shastri Award for Excellence in Management; presented by the President of India (2000)
  • Honorary Doctorate, Abertay-Dundee, Scotland, July 2005 (Honorary Doctor of Business Administration (DBA)
  • Honorary Doctorate, Steven Institute of Technology, 2005 (Doctor of Engineering Ph.D.)
  • Distinguished University Professorship granted, 2005
  • Honorary Doctorate, University of London, 2005 (Doctor of Science (D.Sc.) in Economics)
  • Awarded Faculty Pioneer lifetime Achievement for contributions to Social and Environmental Stewardship by the Aspen Institute and World Resources Institute, 2005
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, The Ross School of Business, University of Michigan,
  • Awarded the Italian Telecom Prize for Leadership in Business and Economic Thinking

Board Memberships

  • NCR Corporation
  • Pearson plc
  • World Resources Institute
  • TiE Global
  • Hindustan Unilever Limited
  • Microsoft’s India Advisory Board
  • UN Blue Ribbon Commission on Private Sector and Development (2003-2004)
  • Strategic Management Society, Fellow
  • Academy of International Business (AIB), Fellow
  • International Academy of Management, Fellow

C. K. Prahalad

Corporate Awards in C.K.’s Name

  • NCR Corporation – C.K. Prahalad Disruptive Innovation Award
  • 2010 Winner – C.S. Sivaramane
  • 2011 Winners – Brian Connell and Dave Norris
  • Corporate Eco-Forum – The CK Prahalad Sustainability Leadership Award
  • 2010 Winner – Hector Nunez (Walmart Brazil)
  • 2011 Winner – Mukhtar Kent (Coca-Cola)
  • 2012 Winners – Neil Hawkins (Dow Chemical)
  • Sustainable Apparel Coalition
  • Paul Polman (Unilever Corporation)

Academic Awards in C.K.’s Name

  • C.K. Prahalad Distinguished Scholar-Practitioner Award – Strategic Management Society
    This prize is awarded annually to a scholar-practitioner who has used applied learning to influence how theory and research guide practice. Special attention is given to a scholar-practitioner whose contributions have shaped the understanding of global strategic leadership.
  • 2011 Winner – Professor Yves Doz
  • 2012 Winner – Nitin Nohria, Dean, Harvard Business School

Ongoing Academic Programs and Research Efforts 

prahalad center for emerging india

Prahalad Center for Emerging India

Established Memorial Lecture Series

  • The indUS Entrepreneurs (TiE) – Delhi Chapter
  • Annual C.K. Prahalad Memorial Lecture
  • 2011 – Delivered by D. Sivakumar (Nokia)
  • 2012 – Delivered by Sam Pitroda

The Aspen Institute, India

  • 2012 – Inaugural Lecture delivered by Mr. Gopalakrishnan, Tata & Sons

The Chief Learning Officers Summit (India)

C.K. Prahalad Memorial Lecture

  • 2011 – Delivered by Deepa Prahalad
  • 2012 – Delivered by Rama Bijapurkar

Past Conferences Dedicated to the C.K. Prahalad Legacy 

Other Efforts